Western Conference of the Association for Asian Studies 2018

The 56th annual meeting of the Western Conference of the Association for Asian Studies (WCAAS) will be held at Soka University of America, on 19-20 October 2018.  Organized by the Pacific Basin Research Center, the meeting will bring together established and emerging voices from Asian Studies in Western North America, and beyond!

The 2018 conference theme is “Asia in the World”.  Given the realities of globalization and Asian investment in Africa, Latin America, and more, area studies must confront the realities of global interactions.  The 2018 WCAAS meeting will highlight thematic panels on Asian economic, political, and cultural influences in other world regions.

We are happy to announce that our keynote speaker will be AAS President, Professor Anne Feldhaus!  An expert on Indian folk religions and Marathi literature, her books include The Deeds of God in Ṛddhipur, Water and Womanhood: Religious Meanings of Rivers in Maharashtra, Connected Places: Region, Pilgrimage, and Geographical Imagination in Maharashtra, Say to the Sun “Don’t Rise” and to the Moon “Don’t Set”: Two Oral Epics from the Countryside of Maharashtra, and much more.

The draft program is now available- please visit the program tab above.  We hope to have a final, complete program available in mid-September.

For conference registration- please visit the above tab.  The regular registration rate is $100 for faculty and $50 for students.  Please register as soon as possible to ensure your place on the program.

Finally, although the proposal system is now closed, we still have some room for undergraduate poster presentations.  Undergraduate students interested in sharing their work can submit their proposals (until 10 September) here:
Please follow this link to propose an undergraduate poster presentation.
The International Studies concentration at Soka University is happy to announce that it will provide a reward for the best undergraduate poster presentation at the conference.  Tetsushi Ogata (Soka University of America) and Brian Dowdle (University of Montana) will serve as judges, awarding a first and second place prize to promising undergraduate research.